Ondo NUJ Gets New Executive Officers, Seeks Cooperation Of Members



Mr Adetona Aderoboye of the local government information Chapel and Leke Adegbite of Radio Nigeria Positive FM chapel have been elected as the Ondo State Chairman and the General Secretary of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ).

Aderoboye gallantly won the election of the state council election held yesterday pulling a total of 115 to defeat his opponent Tony Adetoye of the state information Chapel Who had 17 votes while Adegbite was returned unopposed.

The National President of the Union, Mr Chris Isiguozo who was represented by the B-Zone Vice President, Mr Cosmos Oni and the Senior Assistant National Secretary, Mr. Gbemiga Bamidele urged members of the Union to cooperate with the new Executive under the leadership of Aderoboye to move the Union forward to a greater height.

Bamidele said the position of the secretary and the vice chairman were returned unopposed as Leke Adegbite and Hakeem Gbadamosi of the Correspondents’ Chapel.

The election was monitored by men of the Department of State Security (DSS), Nigerian Army and the Police as well as leadership of the organised labour led by the state NLC Chairman, Comrade Tayo Ogunleye and the NLC state Secretary, Alhaji Adewale Sanusi.

The Vice President of the Union Mr. Cosmos Oni who presided over the election said two positions were contested for, the chairmanship position and the Financial secretary’s position.

For the position of the Financial Secretary, was won by Adeola Adekunle of the Adaba FM chapel who pulled 116 vote to defeat her opponent Ajibola Oluwadare of the state information Chapel who had only 16 votes.

Oni charged the newly elected executive officers to ensure conducting a bye election within the next one month to fill the vacant position of the Assistant Secretary , Treasurer and the auditor.

In his acceptance speech, the newly elected chairman Prince Adetona Aderoboye appreciated the endurance of the members and their enthusiasm to ensure that peace reign in the Union.

Aderoboye called for their cooperation ensuring that he will not disappoint the confidence they reposed in him to move the association forward.

He applauded the national officers and assured that the state council will not disappoint the Union but will always make the Union proud.

Barrister Tolulope Aguda administered oath of office on the newly elected officers, Adetona Aderoboye as Chairman, Hakeem Gbadamosi Vice Chairman, Leke Adegbite, Secretary, and Adeola Adekunle as the financial Secretary.

The National Officers in attendance were, Senior Assistant National Secretary Mr. Gbemiga Bamidele, Vice President B Zone, Mr Cosmos Oni, Secretary B zone, Bamigbola Gbolagunte, Chairman Lagos council Dr. Quasim Akinreti, Secretary Lagos Mr Alfred Odifa, Chairman Oyo Mr. Faniran Adewunmi, Secretary Oyo Mr Bola Ogunlayi, Chairman Ekiti Mr. Rotimi Ojomoyela and Secretary Ekiti Mr Kayode Babatuyi.

The new executives are to steer the leadership of the Union for the next three years.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here