Just In: Buhari Finally Appoints New Service Chiefs


President Muhammadu Buhari has finally appointed new service chiefs to coordinate the security of the country.

The new service chiefs will be headed by the Chief of Defence Staff (CDS), Major General Leo Irabor.

Read below the full statement from the presidency as signed by Femi Adesina, Special Adviser to the President (Media and Publicity):

“President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service. Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

“President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

“The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahir​​u, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A. Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I. O Ama​​o, Chief of Air Staff.

“The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.”

The Precision NG reports that there have been repeated calls for the sack of the outgoing service chiefs who were appointed in 2015.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here