Ondo ANA Gets New Excos. Afolayan, Sogigun, Others Sworn In



The Association of Nigerian Authors, ANA, Ondo State Chapter, has elected a new set of executives to pilot the affairs of the noble association for the next two years.

During the election, a lecturer in the Department of Mass Communication, Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo, was elected Chairman while Mr Bisi Ajiboye (Sogigun) – a veteran broadcaster, emerged Vice Chairman of the association.

The election, which was held in an extraordinary meeting at the weekend, at the Nigerian Union of Journalists, NUJ, Press Centre, Pen House, Adegbemile, Akure, the Ondo State capital, had in attendance the immediate past state Chairperson, Dr Yemi Mahmud, her Secretary, Dr. Susan Akinkurolere, who supervised the election, among other members of the pen profession.

Shortly after swearing ceremony, the new Chairman, in his acceptance speech, thanked God for a smooth transition and further extended his appreciation to the progenitor of the association in the state; High Chief Basorun Seinde Arogbofa, for his continued support and commitment, especially for bringing the body together again after a period of inactivity.

He prayed for long life and good health for the highly revered elder statesman.

Afolayan, who also appreciated other past chairmen and their executives for their role in the uplift of the association, solicited their support in all the programmes and events of the association.

Speaking further, he said the new administration would be all inclusive where the collective interest of members would always be the cardinal creed in the running of the respected association. He promised to carry all members along and give them room to exhibit their God-given talents at all times.

The chairman called for unity of members devoid of rancours and unhealthy politicisation, saying everyone would have a say in the running of the association during his tenure.

He promised that his Committee will soon unveil programmes of events for the current year, which he said would bring more progress, not only to members but to the state in general.

Other members of the new executives include Miss Tosin Afe – General Secretary, Pastor Oladele Afariogun – Assistant Secretary, Dr Mrs Folasade Ade-Johnson – Treasurer, Mrs Jide Abu – Financial Secretary, Mr Jide Ogidan – PRO 1 and Comrade Goke Williams – PRO 2.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here