INEC Declares Seyi Makinde Winner Of Oyo Guber Poll



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Seyi Makinde, winner of the Oyo state governorship election.

Seyi, who is the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was successfully re-elected in the election which took place on Saturday.

Makinde secured 563,756 votes to clinch victory, while Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC) came second with 256,685 votes.

Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party came a distant third with 38,357 votes.

Makinde secured victory in 31 of the 33 LGAs in the state, while the APC won two LGAs.

Adebayo Bamire, INEC returning officer for the Oyo governorship election, announced the final result around 3:30pm on Sunday.

Culled from Cable

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here