Kano Election Tribunal Declares APC’s Gawuna Winner After Deducting NNPP’s Votes


Nasiru Gawuna of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared the winner of the election that was held in Kano State in March 2023.

Gawuna was declared winner after the Kano governorship election petitions tribunal nullified the victory of Governor Abba Yusuf of the All Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP).

The tribunal panel, led by Justice Oluyemi Akintan-Osadebay, said Mr Gawuna won the March 18 exercise after deducting 165,663 votes from NNPP’s figures.

The APC had in its suit challenged the victory of Mr Yusuf, after the electoral office INEC declared him the winner.

In an unprecedented move, the court announced its decision via Zoom on Wednesday, with lawyers and journalists left outside the courtroom.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here