Nasarawa State University Upgrades Mass Communication Department To Faculty



The Department of Mass Communication, Nasarawa State University, Keffi has been upgraded to a full-fledged faculty.

This followed its ratification by the senate of the university at its sitting on Thursday.

The ratification led to the expansion of Mass Communication department to include Media Studies with the faculty becoming that of Mass Communication and Media Studies.

According to Prof. Muhammad S. Rabiu, who was appointed Dean, Faculty of Communication and Media Studies, the unbundling led to the emergence of three departments under the faculty with their heads of departments.

They include Prof. Kaior Samuel Akpede; Head, Department of Broadcasting; Tsegyu Santas, PhD, Head, Department of Journalism and Media Studies; and Anthony Ogande, PhD, Head, Department of Public Relations respectively.

The dean also quoted the Vice-Chancellor of the university and chairman of the senate, Prof. Suleiman Bala Mohammed, as saying that as time progresses, the other five departments under the unbundled Mass Communication programme would be opened for academic activities.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here