Update: Osinbajo Inaugurates Two New Ministers | The Precision


Nigeria’s Acting President, Yemi Osinbajo, on Wednesday inaugurated Stephen Ocheni representing Kogi state and Suleiman Hassan representing Gombe state as ministers of the federal government of Nigeria.
The inauguration took place at the commencement of the weekly meeting of the Federal Executive Council (FEC).
Shortly after administering their oaths of office on them, Professor Osinbajo announced that their portfolios would be announced “shortly.”
The new ministers also attended the FEC meeting with their colleagues.
IRecall that the House of Representatives had on July 11 handed down a seven-day ultimatum to Osinbajo to inaugurate the ministers whose names were forwarded to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari.
Prof. Osinbajo had failed to inaugurate the ministers since Buhari left the country for London, United Kingdom where he is currently receiving medical attention.
The slots of Kogi and Gombe States in the federal cabinet had been vacant following the death of the Minister of State for Labour, Mr. James Ocholi (SAN), in an accident on March 6, 2016; and the appointment of former Minister of the Environment, Amina Mohammed, as the Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here