FG Okays 2 New Medical Varsities; 4 Others | The Precision


The Federal Government has approved the establishment of six new private universities, including a Naval University in Delta state. 


Education Minister, Adamu Adamu announced this while briefing the State House Press Corps at the end of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting presided over by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo on Wednesday. 
According to him, the approvals are a result of the memo submitted to FEC by the Ministry.
The  universities include: Admiralty University in Ibusa, Delta State, owned by the Naval Holding Company; Spiritan University in Nneochi, Abia State; and Precious Cornerstone University in Ibadan.
Also approved are PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Port Harcourt; Atiba University in Oyo town, Oyo State; and Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences, Lagos.
Adamu said  more applications were received by the Ministry which would later present them to the Council for approval.
The Minister said that FEC had directed the National Universities Commission to look into the  quality of courses offered by new and existing universities in the country.
According to him, the government would withdraw the registration of any university that failed to met the standard set for courses being offered.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here