2017 African Footballer Of The Year Winner Emerges On Thursday + List Of Past Winners | The Precision

Yaya Toure has been awarded the coveted trophy for four times
All is now set for Africa to crown its best football player on Thursday at the annual Confederation of African Football awards being hosted in Accra, Ghana.


However, the electors
have a tough choice in deciding between the three candidates for the
2017 African Footballer of the Year award.
Aubameyang of Borussia Dortmund and Gabon goes up against Liverpool’s
Senegalese Sadio Mane and Egyptian Mohamed Salah. 

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Ahead of the announcement, THE PRECISION presents to you the full list of African Footballer of the Year award winners since its inception:
1970: Salif Keita (St Etienne, France and Mali) 
1971: Ibrahim Sunday (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)
1972: Cherif Souleymane (Hafia and Guinea)
1973: Tshimen Bwanga (TP Mazembe Englebert and Zaire) 
1974: Paul Moukila (CARA Brazzaville and Congo) 
1975: Ahmed Faras (Mohammedia and Morocco) 
1976: Roger Milla (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon) 
1977: Tarak Dhiab (Esperance and Tunisia) 
1978: Karim Abdoul Razak (Asante Kotoko and Ghana) 
1979: Thomas Nkono (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon) 
1980: Jean Manga Onguene (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon) 
1981: Lakhdar Belloumi (GCR Mascara and Algeria) 
1982: Thomas Nkono (Espanyol, Spain and Cameroon) 
1983: Mahmoud Al Khatib (Al Ahli and Egypt) 
1984: Theophile Abega (Toulouse, France and Cameroon) 
1985: Mohamed Timoumi (Royal Armed Forces and Morocco) 
1986: Badou Ezaki (Real Mallorca, Spain and Morocco) 
1987: Rabah Madjer (FC Porto, Portugal and Algeria) 
1988: Kalusha Bwalya (Cercle Bruges, Belgium and Zambia) 
1989: George Weah (Monaco, France and Liberia) 
1990: Roger Milla (St Denis, Reunion and Cameroon) 
1991: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France and Ghana) 
1992: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France and Ghana) 
1993: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Lyonnaise, France and Ghana) 
1994: George Weah (Paris St Germain, France and Liberia) and
Emmanuel Amunike (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal and Nigeria) 
1995: George Weah (AC Milan, Italy and Liberia) 
1996: Nwankwo Kanu (Inter Milan, Italy and Nigeria) 
1997: Victor Ikpeba (Monaco, France and Nigeria) 
1998: Mustapha Hadji (Deportivo Coruna, Spain and Morocco) 
1999: Nwankwo Kanu (Arsenal, England and Nigeria) 
2000: Patrick Mboma (Parma, Italy and Cameroon) 
2001: El Hadji Diouf (Rennes, France and Senegal) 
2002: El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool, England and Senegal) 
2003: Samuel Eto’o (Real Mallorca, Spain and Cameroon) 

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

2004: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona, Spain and Cameroon) 
2005: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona, Spain and Cameroon) 
2006: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England and Ivory Coast) 
2007: Frederic Kanoute (Sevilla, Spain and Mali) 
2008: Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal, England and Togo) 
2009: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England and Ivory Coast) 
2010: Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan, Italy and Cameroon) 
2011: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast) 
2012: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast) 
2013: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast) 
2014: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast) 
2015: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Germany 
and Gabon) 
2016: Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, England and Algeria)
Note: The award was organised by the French soccer magazine 
'France Football' until 1994, after which the Confederation of
African Football instituted a new award. (Reuters)

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here