Akeredolu Inaugurates Governing Council Members Of AAUA, OSUSTECH, Others | The Precision


Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu has inaugurated the new governing Councils of the four tertiary institutions in Ondo state with a charge to help drive funding for academic excellence and global competitiveness.

The four institutions are the Adekunle Ajasin University Akungba Akoko, AAUA, Ondo state University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa, OSUSTECH, University of Medical Sciences, UNIMED Ondo and the Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo, RUGIPO
Speaking at the Dome in Akure, venue of the inauguration, Akeredolu appealed to the new council members to come up with propositions and ideas that will help revamp the fortunes of the four tertiary institutions.
He emphasized that it was obvious the current fees in some tertiary institutions in the state is not realistic in view of the present economic realities thus the need to take a second look at it.
Akeredolu advised the council members to impact on their institutions by improving funding through endowment, grants and support with and outside the country for meaningful developmental projects.
He said they must ensure appointments, recruitment and promotion are based  on merit.
“We will work with realistic expectations because the education of our people is important to us.
“We will implement recommendations on the visitation panels..Advise us on fees payable by our students. We are elected to take tough decision and that decision we will take. Take up the challenge to restructure the system. We will support you.” Akeredolu said
He restated that the ultimate purpose of the visitation panels recently set up for the four tertiary institutions is to invigorate the system and not to withhunt anybody.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here