Buhari Writes Senate; Appoints Buratai, Iyantan, Okoye, 23 Others + Full List

Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari has written the Senate to confirm Festus
Okoye as National Commissioner for the Independent National Electoral
Commission (INEC).


Mr Okoye is among 26 new appointees the president wrote, in separate letters, to the Senate for confirmation.
Mr Buhari’s request on Mr Okoye was contained in a letter read by the
Senate President, Bukola Saraki, shortly before the Senate adjourned
plenary on Tuesday.


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

“In accordance with the provision of section 154(1) of the 1999
constitution as amended, I rise to forward to the distinguished senators
the name of Barrister Festus Okoye for confirmation as National
Commissioner representing South-east geo-political zone.
“While hoping that this request will receive the usual expeditious
consideration, please accept Mr President the assurances of my highest
regard,” the letter reads.
Mr Okoye, an indigene of Imo State, is the Executive Director, Human
Rights Monitor, and a Solicitor at the Supreme Court of Nigeria.
In other letters dispatched to the Senate, Mr Buhari also sought the
confirmation of 23 members of National Population Commission and two
non-legal practitioners as members of Federal Judicial Service
The two non-legal practitioners are; Abba Ali (Katsina-North west) and Mohammed Sagir (Niger-North central).
The 23 nominees for the National Population Commission are; Nwanne
Johnny Nwabuisi (Abia), Dr Clifford Zirra (Adamawa), Mr Chidi
Christopher Ezeoke (Anambra), Barrister Isa Audu Buratai (Borno), Navy
Captain Charles Iyam Ogwa (Cross River), Sir Richard Odibo (Delta),
Okereke Darlington Onaubuchi (Ebonyi) and Mr A.D. Olusegun Aiyajina
Others are; Ejike Ezeh (Enugu), Hon. Abubakar Mohammed Danburam
(Gombe), Prof. Uba S.F. Nnabue (Imo), Dr. Abdulmalik Mohammed Durunguwa
(Kaduna), Sulaiman Ismaila Lawal (Kano), Prof. Jimoh Habibat Isah
(Kogi), Dr. Sa’adu Ayinla Alanamu (Kwara), Nasir Isa kwarra (Nasarawa).
Also nominated are: Barrister Aliyu Datti (Niger), Yeye (Mrs) Seyi
Adererinokun Olusanya (Ogun), Prince Oladiran Garvey Iyantan (Ondo),
Senator Mudashiru Oyetunde Hussain (Osun), Mrs Cecilia Arsun Dapoet
(Plateau), Dr. Ipalibo Macdonald Harry (Rivers), Sale S. Saany (Taraba).

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here