How Osun SWAN Chair, NAWOJ Counterpart Got Deployed From Newsroom To Classrooms

The document indicating their posting. 

In what appeared like a desperate move to demean the leadership rank of the Osun State Chapter of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) and her affiliates, the Osun State Government has deployed two ranking members of the union in the state from their various newrooms to classrooms.

The duo, Mrs Motunrayo Ayegbayo who is the State Chairperson of the National Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ) works in the television newsroom of the Osun State Broadcasting Corporation, Ile-awiye, Oke-Baale, Osogbo while Mr Adeyemi Aboderin, who is the State Chairman of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) works in the newsroom of the OSBC-NEW DAWN Television, Ibokun.
Both NAWOJ and SWAN are affiliates of the NUJ.
In a circular Ref.No.DMD.306/28 dated 12th of April, which originated from the office of the Head of Service (Public Service Office) and Signed by K.N. Akintola for the Permanent Secretary and titled Formal Secondment of Some Public Servants With Educational Qualifications to the State Teaching Service which was copied to various agencies and establishments of government, the circular noted that in line with the Unified Public Service (UPS) in the State of Osun and in line with the decision of the State Executive Council (EXCO) the Head of Service has approved the Secondment of the following Public Servants to the State Teaching Service.
The name of Tunrayo Ayegbayo appeared on number 9 on the list and posted to Osogbo Government High School, Osogbo while that of Adeyemi Aboderin followed on and posted to Community Middle/High School, Ota-Efun, Osogbo.

The list contained 71 names of Public Servants allegedly drawn from various agencies, establishments and parastatals. It directed the affected to report to their respective Permanent Secretary/Tutors-General with immediate effect.

The listing of both Ayegbayo and Aboderin was believed to have emanated from the few disgruntled within the rank of the Interim Board and Management of the Osun State Broadcasting Corporation.

Some staffers of the Corporation who spoke on condition of anonymity linked the listing of the duo with the roles played by both before, during and after  the last Osun NUJ election won by the incumbent, Abiodun Olalere.

According to the source, some are still aggrieved with the emergence of the incumbent Abiodun Olalere and saw the circular as an opportunity to have their own pound of flesh on their perceived opponents who are staffers of the News Department, hence the move without recourse to the current status of the duo as union leaders. The names pushed to the office of the Head of Service, who unknowingly collated all the names submitted by various agencies and department together.

It was discovered that two other names added to it from the OSBC was to give a bit of credence to the action but their direct targets were the duo of Ayegbayo and Aboderin.
Ayegbayo joined the services of OSBC in 1997 as a freelance journalist while her appointment was regularised in 1999.
Aboderin, on the other hand joined in 1993 as a Cameraman/ Transmission Director.

Through dedication and commitment to self-development, he obtained a National Certificate in Education in English Language and Political Science from the College of Education, Ilesa in 1998. He did not stopped at that, he pursued process courses in line with the demand of his calling and obtained both Advance Diploma Certificate in Mass Communication from the Polytechnic, Ibadan in 2001 and Post Graduate Diploma in Journalism from the International Institute of Journalism, Abuja in 2005. He proceeded to the prestigious Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife where he obtained a B.Sc degree in Political Science in 2013. He has completed his M.Sc degree programme in Political Science from same university since last year. All the latest educational qualifications were ignored by the power that be at OSBC and instead dusted the one obtained in 1998 just to get at their targets.

Unfortunately, both Ayegbayo and Aboderin were victims of the inglorious retrenchment exercise carried out by the administration of Bisi Akande in the year 2000 and for 45 months were out of service but were recalled when Olagunsoye Oyinlola took over in 2003. (TimeNewsNG) 

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here