APC’s Gumau Wins Bauchi South Senate Seat | The Precision



Lawal Yahaya Gumau, winner of the Bauchi South Senatorial seat

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Lawal Yahaya Gumau, candidate of the All Progressives Congress winner of the Bauchi South Senatorial election.

This is based on the official results declared and collated today in Bauchi.
Gumau, a member of the House of Representatives, polled 119, 489 votes to beat Ladan Salihu of the Peoples Democratic Party, who got 50,256 votes.
The result was announced by Professor Ahmed Sarkin-Pagam of the Department of Agriculture, Abubakar Tafawa-Balewa University, Bauchi, the chief returning officer for the election held Saturday.
A total of 256,763 votes were cast, out of which 245,652 were valid and 11,111 invalid.
Former governor of the state, Isa Yuguda came third with 33,079 votes.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the bye-election was conducted to elect a representative for Bauchi South Senatorial District, sequel to the death of Sen. Ali Wakili on March 17.
With the outcome of the by-election, APC in Bauchi now has only one senator because the other two senators, Isa Misau and Nazif Gamawa, formerly of the APC, have defected to the PDP.
The APC candidate won in six of the seven local councils that make up the district, with Salihu winning in Bogoro local government, the home base of Speaker Yakubu Dogara, who is yet to make an official switch from the APC to the PDP.
In Bogoro, Salihu, a former broadcaster, got 6,646 votes as against the 3,992 votes scored by the APC candidate.
Collation of the results of the bye-election began today, slowed down by the heavy rain that fell Saturday evening. The election itself was marred by many incidents.
Massive over voting was recorded in Bogoro and Bauchi councils, leading to the cancellation of over 25,000 votes. In Bogoro, 10,217 votes were cancelled and 15, 017 in Bauchi.
There were also cases of ballot box snatching in 13 units in Toro. In Alkaleri local council, 16,298 votes were cancelled in eight wards and 40 polling units over fracas, over voting, and non-usage of card readers.
Apart from the winner, Gumau, Salihu and Isa Yuguda, there were six other candidates.
They were Haruna Ayuba (African Democratic Congress ), Aminu Tukur (Action Peoples party), Usman Hassan (Kowa Party), the only woman in the race Maryam Bargel (Social Democratic Party), Husseini Umar (New Nigeria Peoples Party) and Usman Chaledi (People for Democratic Change).
The returning officer gave their scores: Haruna Ayuba of ADC 1754 Votes; Aminu Tukur of APP 11,717 votes; Usman Hassan of KP 240 votes, Huseini Umar of NNPP 22,896 votes, Usman Chaledi of PDC 1203 votes and Mrs Maryam Begel of SDP, 3,800. votes.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here