Place your advert here

2019: INEC Approves 116 Local, 28 Foreign Election Observers + Full List

Chairman of INEC, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu; during the INEC’s presentation of certificate of registration to five new political parties, in Abuja on Friday (16/6/17). 03311/16/6/2017/Hogan-Bassey/ BJO/NAN

Ahead of the 2019 general elections on February 16 and March 2, 2019, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) says it has approved 116 local and 28 foreign election observers for the elections.

In a 6-page release obtained from INEC website by THE PRECISION, INEC urged all the approved observers to obtain and complete form EC 14A (ii) from the Elections and Party Monitoring Department, INEC Headquarters, Maitama, Abuja between 8am-4pm (Monday – Friday) starting from 28th January, 2019 to 1st February, 2019.

The statement further urged all accredited Observers to abide by the code of conduct for election observers, which is available for download from the INEC website.

“To ensure prompt and efficient processing of ID cards, all accredited Observer groups are enjoined to compile the list and photographs of their members for deployment on State basis and submit hard and soft copies (CD please, using JPEG drive) to the Elections and Party Monitoring Department, INEC Headquarters on or before 1st February, 2019.

Read also: 2019: NOA Releases 12 Things Voters Must Note Before Voting

“Please note that distribution of observer kits (including ID cards to individual observers) will be done by the Elections and Party Monitoring (EPM) Heads of Department (HODs) at INEC State offices between 11th – 15th February, 2019”, the commission noted.

INEC also warned that non-accredited observers found on election days would be arrested and prosecuted.

“The Commission wishes to emphasize that groups other than those accredited, found in any State for the elections shall be handed over to law enforcement agencies. Also, accredited field observers found in States other than where they are posted will equally be sanctioned.

“Any enquiries should be directed to the Director, Elections and Party Monitoring Department, INEC Headquarters Maitama, Abuja (07030841229 & 08036048515)”, the statement read.

Download full list of observers below.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this website and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here