Place your advert here

Ondo HOS, Femi Idris, NULGE President, Adegbie, Mrs Makinde Shine At Ondo NUJ Award Night


It was a moment full of fun, music, encomium and gratitude to the almighty  God as the Nigerian union of journalists, NUJ, Ondo state council rounded off its weeklong 2020 press week with a dinner and award night.

The venue, NUJ Press centre which was filled to capacity with journalists from within and outside  the state as well as men and women of exceptional character  who have distinguished themselves in their chosen professions.

In his opening remark,  Ondo NuJ Chairman, Mr Tona Aderoboye who was full of happiness hinged the decision to hold this year’s Press week on the fact that no journalist was lost during the the crises that characterized the year, especially covid 19 pandemic and Endsars protest.

Aderoboye who said Ondo NUJ despite the tough year attained some feats appealled to Governor oluwarotimi  Akeredolu to fulfil his promises  to the union.

Speaking on the scorecard of journalists in the state in the last one year the Commisioner for information and orientation, Mr Donald Ojogo said the pen profession had done excellently in events  coverage and information management across board.

A unique feature of the event which was presentation of award to distinguished journalists.

The lucky hard working journalists included Friday Otabor (The Nation newspaper), Isaac Afolabi of Radio Nigeria Positive FM, Sola Ilesanmi, Zaheed Arobila, Bimbo Adegboola (OSRC); Maria Famakinwa, Sunmola Olowookere, Olajide Stephen (The Hope newspaper), Augustine Adeoye (State Ministry of Information) and Bolu Olu-Esho (Daily Independent).

Highpoint of the event  was the presentation of award of distinguished public administrator to the Ondo state Head of service,  Mr Dare Aragbaye  just as Mr Femi Idris was awarded long term champion of grassroots development.

Mr. Oluwadare Aragbaiye, the Ondo State Head of Service was among the NUJ award recipients as he was honoured with Award of Excellence as Distinguished Public Administrator of the Year (2020).

Mr. Tolu Adegbie, Chairman, Ondo State Internal Revenue Service, (ODIRS). He bagged Award of Excellence as Ondo State Pillar of Economic Development; Comrade Bola Taiwo, President, NULGE, Ondo State, was honoured with the Distinguished Labour Leader And Unionist Award 2020; while Hon. Femi Idris, Chairman, Ondo State Local Government Service Commission, bagged award of Long-Term Champion of Grassroots Development.

Also, Mrs. Olubunmi Ademosun, was conferred with the Award of Excellence as 0ndo State Amazon of Human Capital Development; Dr. (Mrs.) Rhoda Abiola Makinde, CEO, DROMI, was honoured with Award of Excellence in Poverty Alleviation and Chief (Mrs.) Jumoke Abegunde, CEO, I Care Foundation, received the Award of Excellence in Humanitarian Services.

The event with entertainment and cultural display at its peak had notable dignitaries in attendance including a former Ondo SSG, Mr Ifedayo Abegunde; NUJ vice president B Zone, comrade Cosmas Oni; General Manager, Radio Nigeria Positive FM, Mr S. T Abiodun and that of Crest FM Akure, Mr Adeolu Gboyega. Others are FUTA VC represented by Mr Adebanjo Adegbenro as well as the Executive Secretary of the Ondo State Primary Healthcare Development Board, Dr Francis Akanbiemu.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here