Kemini Doubra Is New Ondo-EKSU Alumni Chairman


Chief Kemini Doubra Emerges ONDO EKSU Alumni Chairman; Promises a Transparent Inclusive Government

Graduates of Ekiti State University (EKSU) in Ondo state last weekend in Akure trooped out in their numbers to exercise their civic rights leading to the emergence of Chief Kemini Doubra as the new executive chairman of the Ekiti State University Alumni Association, Ondo State Chapter defeating his closest challenger Raphael Akinrolabu.

Before declaring the election results, the National Secretary of the EKSU Alumni Association, Mr Ojo Akinleye who was the Chief Returning Officer for the election commended the two chairmanship aspirants for their maturity and show of sportsmanship.

He equally applauded other aspirants for their love for the association which contributed immensely to the conduct of a free, fair and credible election.

Akinleye noted that the exercise is the first of its kind in the state chapter as previous leaders have often emerged through nomination or selection.

While announcing the results of the election where 140 delegates registered but 121 delegates were accredited to participate online and physically,the Chief Returning Officer declared Chief Kemini Doubra winner of the poll having met the constitutional requirement of 77 votes while Mr. Raphael Akinrolabu garnered 43 votes.

Other elected candidates were: Vice Chairman I- Dr. Alonge Richard Adeola (107 votes), General Secretary- Mr. Ade S. Arikawe (78 votes), Treasurer- Mr. Coker Oludotun (73 votes), Financial Secretary- Mr. Ibironke Ibitoye (97 votes), Auditor- Mrs. Funmileyi Majofodun Omogbemi (109 votes), Publicity Secretary- Mr. Akinrogunde Omoniyi ‘Romeo’ (95 votes), Social Secretary- Mrs. Funke Olusola Adeola (93 votes) and Welfare Officer- Mr. Ogunboye Akinbiyi (102 votes).

The immediate past chairman of the association Hon. Sunday Adelokiki also became the Ex- Officio.

However, an aspirant for the post of Vice Chairman II, Mr. Ade-Akinro Adewale who contested unopposed was unable to meet the constitutional requirement of 51% of the total vote cast needed to be declared elected after polling 53 votes while 67 voters voted against him.

In his official address after the oath of office has been administered on the elected executive members, Chief Kemini Doubra applauded the national body of the association under the leadership of Engineer Dipo Bamisaye, FNSE, ably represented by Mr Ojo Akinleye (National Secretary & Chief Returning Officer) together with Barrister Borode (National Auditor & Assistant Chief Returning Officer) and Mrs Bola Okusanya (Observer). Chief Doubra recognised the presence of the Association’s immediate past president, Asiwaju Dr Oludotun Adetunberu and commended the members of the electoral committee led by Barrister Muyiwa Cole for a job well done.

Chief Doubra assured that the executive under his leadership will leave no stone unturned in prioritizing the welfare of members and move the association to an enviable height. According to him, his government will be transparent and every member of the association will have a sense of belonging.

He reiterated that in a couple of years, the association would have been better than how it was met.

Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti, as it is known today was established in March 1982 as Obafemi Awolowo University, Ado-Ekiti, during the government of Chief Michael Adekunle Ajasin.

The institution which is approaching its four decades of establishment had its name changed to Ondo State University, Ado-Ekiti (OSUA) in 1985, University of Ado-Ekiti (UNAD) in November 1999, and to its present name Ekiti State University (EKSU) in September 2011.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here