Place your advert here

UI VC Race: Senate Elects Two Representatives. Final Shortlisting Holds Today

The main gate of the University if Ibadan

As the race to the next Vice Chancellor (VC) of the University of Ibadan (UI) reaches its climax, Senators of the institution on Tuesday elected two representatives to represent them in the Council of the University.

The Precision NG gathered that the Council led by Chief John Odigie-Oyegun will today Wednesday, October 13 shortlist the final Six candidates out of the 15 aspirants who would be interviewed tomorrow, Thursday, October 14. A final announcement is expected same day.

The two representatives are Prof. Peter Olapegba and Prof. Ezekiel Ayoola who scored 283 and 269 votes in that order to defeat three other contestants. See results below:

The two representatives will join the Council Chairman, Chief Odigie-Oyegun and two other representatives of government in the Council to make a five-man panel that would interview the 15 aspirants for the VC position.

Recalled that one of the aspirants, Prof. Aderemi Raji-Oyelade had withdrawn from the race at the weekend.

Also, a group, Coalition for Autonomy of Universities in Nigeria alleged that the two now elected senate representatives would undermine the process going by their track records in the last canceled VC selection process.

The remaining 15 aspirants in the race are: Acting UI VC, Prof. Babatunde Ekanola; Professor Kayode Oyebode Adebowale; Professor Adeyinka Abideen Aderinto; Professor Emiola Oluwabunmi Olapade-Olaopa and Professor Temitope Alonge.

Also in the race are Professor George Olusegun Ademowo; Professor Kolawole Clement Olusegun Olaniran; Professor Ganiyu Adesola Aderounmu; Professor Ebenezer Farombi and Professor Hakeem Babatunde Faweyinmi.

Others are Professor Rasaq Olatunde Kalilu; Professor Anthony Kolawole; Professor Oladele Layiwola; Professor Nazeem Oluwafemi Mimiko and Professor Babatunde Salako.

The new VC, when elected, will assume office in November this year for a single tenure of five years.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here