Revealed: 100 Oldest Secondary Schools In Nigeria (See List) | The Precision

 CMS Grammar School, Bariga, Lagos (1859) – CMS

Methodist Boys High School, Victoria Island, Lagos (1878) – Methodist

Methodist Girls High School, Yaba, Lagos (1879) – Methodist

Academy, Obanikoro, Lagos (1885) – Baptist – The primary school arm was
established in 1855 but was not changed into secondary school.

Hope Waddell Training Institute, Calabar (1895) – United Presbyterian

St. Anne’s School, (Old Kudeti Girls’ School) Ibadan (1896)*- CMS

Oron Boy’s High School, (Old Oron Training Institute) Oron (1897)*- CMS

Wesley College of Science (old Wesley College), Elekuro, Ibadan (1905)* – Methodist

St. Paul’s College, Iyenu, Awka (1900)* – CMS 

Methodist Boy’s High School, Oron (1905) – Methodist

Abeokuta Grammar School, Idi-Aba, Abeokuta (1908) – CMS

King’s College, Catholic Mission street, Lagos (1909) – Government

St. John’s School, Bida (1909)* – CMS

Alhuda-Huda College(Old Government Secondary School), Zaria (1910) – Government

Ijebu-Ode Grammar School, Ijebu-Ode (12 Jan. 1913) – Anglican

Eko Boys High School, Mushin, Lagos (13 Jan. 1913) – Methodist

Ibadan Grammar School, Molete, Ibadan (Mar. 1913) – CMS

Government Secondary School, Ilorin, Kwara (1914)- Government

Government College, Katsina-Ala, Benue (1915) – Government

Etinan Institute, Etinan, Akwa-Ibom (1915) – Qua Iboe Christian Mission

Ondo Boys High School, Ondo (1919) – CMS

Duke Town Secondary School (1919) – Qua Iboe Christian Mission

Baptist Boys High School, Oke-Saje, Abeokuta (1923) – Baptist

Government College, Kaduna (1920) – Government

College, (Old Katsina College, Kaduna College and Government College),
Zaria (Established as Katsina Teachers’ College) (1921)* – Government

Methodist College, Uzuakoli, Abia (1923)- Methodist

Ibo Boys’ High School, Uzuakoli, Abia (1923) – CMS

Dennis Memorial Grammar School, Onitsha, Anambra (1925) – CMS

Queens College, Yaba, lagos (1927) – Government

Government College, Apata, Ibadan (1927) – Government

Government College, Umuahia, Abia (1927) – Government

United Memorial Grammar School, Ibadan (1928) – CMS

St. Gregory College, Ikoyi, Lagos (1928) – Catholic

St. Thomas College, Ibusa (1928) – CMS

St. Charles College, Onitsha (1929) – CMS

Aggrey Memorial College, Arochukwu (1931) – Individual (Alvan Ikoku)

Igbobi College, Yaba, Lagos (1932) – Methodist/CMS

St’ Theresa College, Oke-Ado, Ibadan (1932) – Catholic

Oduduwa Grammar School, Ile-Ife (1932) – CMS

Christ the King College, Onitsha, Anambra (1933) – Catholic

Christ’s School, Fajuyi Park, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti (1933) – CMS

Ilesha Grammar School, Ilesha, Osun (1934) – Social Group (Egbe Atunlese Ijesha)

St. Patrick’s College, Calabar (1934) – Catholic

Holy Rosary College, Enugu (1935) – Catholic

Government Secondary School, Owerri (1935) – Government

Edo College, Benin City (1937) – Government

Ibadan Boys High School, Ibadan (1938) – Individual (Chief T.L. Oyesina)

Baptist High School, Bodija, Ibadan (1940) – Baptist

Queen of the Rosary College, Onitsha (1942) – Catholic 

African Church School, Kajola, Ifo (1943)*

Lisabi Grammar School, Abeokuta (1943)

Offa Grammar School, Offa (1943)

Olivet Heights, Oyo (1945)

Adeola Odutola College (old Olu-Iwa College), Ijebu-Ode (1945) 

Government College, Ughelli (1945)

Anglican Girls’ Grammar School, Lagos (1945)

Urhobo College, Effurun (1946)

Remo Secondary School, Sagamu (1946)

Ansar –Ud – Deen Comprehensive College, Otta (1946)

Imade College, Owoh (1946)

Victory College, Ikare, Ondo (1947) 

Hussey College, Warri (1947)

Ahmaddiya (Anwar-ul-Islam) College, Agege, Lagos (1948)

Government College, Keffi (old Keffi Secondary School situated in Kaduna) (1949) 

Molusi College, Ijebu-Igbo (1949)

Baptist High School, Borokiri, Port Harcourt (1949)

Oriwu College, Ikorodu (1949)

Ago-Iwoye Secondary School, Ago-Iwoye (1950) 

Ijebu Muslim College (1950)

Our Ladies of Apostle Secondary School, Yaba, Lagos (1950) 

St. Peter Claver’s College, Sapele (1950)

Egbado (Yewa) College, Ilaro (1950)

St. Thomas’s Aquinas College, Akure (1951) 

Queen’s School, Ibadan (1952)

Government College, Afikpo, Ebonyi (1952)

Oyemekun Grammar School, Akure (1953)

Loyola College, Ibadan (1954)

St. Bernadine’s, Oyo (1954)

Our Ladies of Apostle Secondary School, Ijebu-Ode (1954) 

St. Anthony’s Grammar School, Ijebu-Imushin (1954)

Manuwa Memorial Grammar School, Iju-Odo ( 1954)

Fiditi Grammar School, Fiditi, Oyo (1954)

National High School, Arondizuogu, Imo (1954) 

Iheme Memorial Grammar School, Arondizuogu, Imo (1954)

St. Louis Secondary School, Ondo (1954)

Gboluji Grammar School, Ile-Oluji, Ondo (1954)

Badagry Grammar School, Badagry (1955)

African Church Grammar School, Abeokuta (1955)

Ibara Anglican High School, Abeokuta (1955)

Doherty Memorial Grammar School, Ijero- Ekiti (1955)

St Patrick’s College, Asaba (1955)

St. Monica Girls’ School, Ondo (1955)

St. Catherine’s Anglican Girls School, Owo (1956)

St Joseph’s College, Ondo (1956)

Methodist High School, Okiti Pupa (1956)

Mayflower School, Ikenne (1956) 

Isoyin Grammar School, Isoyin (1956)

Ebenezer Grammar School, Abeokuta (1956) 

St. Joseph College, Ondo (1956)

Odogbolu Grammar School, Odogbolu (1957)

Notre Dame College, Ozoro (1957) 

Government College, Makurdi (1957)

Holy Rosary College, Idah (1957)

Anglican Grammar School, Iju-itaogbolu (1957)

African Church Grammar School, Oka-Akoko (1957)

Okemesi Grammar School, Okemesi-Ekiti (1958)

Lagelu Grammar School, Ibadan (1958)

Ahmadu Bahago Secondary School (old Niger Baptist College), Niger (1958)

Anglican Grammar School, Igbara-Oke (1958)

St. Patrick’s College, Oka-Akoko (1959)

Ondo Anglican Grammar School, Ondo (1959) 

Premier Grammar School, Abeokuta (1959) 

highlighted schools morphed from primary schools/Teachers’ Training
Colleges into secondary schools before independence. The exact date of
metamorphosis of these schools cannot be ascertained, hence the original
years of establishment was used in listing them. Primary Schools and
Teachers’ Training Colleges that didn’t morph into secondary schools are
exempted from the list. Northern Provincial Schools are also exempted
because of inadequate information/recorded history. 
Examples include; Adamawa Provincial Secondary School (Gen. Murtala Muhammed College), Yola (1920)?! Katsina Provincial Secondary school (Government College, Katsina) (1930)?! (Nairaland).
Source: The Precision

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here