INEC Declares APC Candidate, Ife Ehindero Winner Of Ondo Bye-election



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of All Progressives Congress(APC), Mr Ifeoluwa Ehindero, as the winner of Akoko North-East and Akoko North-West Federal constituency bye-election in Ondo State.

The Akoko North-East and Akoko North-West Federal constituency became vacant after President Bola Tinubu appointed Mr Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo, who occupied the position, as a minister.

The Returning Officer, Johnson Fasinmirin of the Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA), while announcing the results at the collation centre held at Victory College, Ikare-Akoko on Saturday, said the APC candidate polled 35,504 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Bada Olalekan of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who had 15,328 votes.

According to him, total valid votes is 51,341, and total rejected votes is 555 while total votes cast is 51,896.

“I, Fasinmirin Johnson hereby satisfied that I am the Returning Officer for the 2024 of Akoko North East and Akoko North West federal constituency bye-election held on the Feb. 3, 2024.

“The election was contested and Ehindero Ifeoluwa Babajide of APC polled 35,504 while Bada Olalekan Oladapo scores 15,328.

“That Ehindero Ifeoluwa Babajide of APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is here by declare the winner and return elected,” he said.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here