FRCN, TVC, THE NATION Emerge Best Media Outfits In 2018



The Federal Radio Nigeria of Corporation, FRCN also known as Radio Nigeria has been announced as the best Radio Station in the Country.

Radio Nigeria won the star prize, NBC Prize for Radio Station of the Year at the Nigeria Media Merit Award (NMMA) 2018 held in Lagos on Thursday night.

TV Continental (TVC) was announced winner of the NBC Prize for Television Station of the Year, thereby dislodging Channels TV who held it in the last 12 years.

In the Radio category, FRCN won Radio Reporter and Radio Presenter of the Year while Ray Power won the Radio Broadcaster of the Year.

In the Radio Category, Mary Fatile was announced winner of the Radio Reporter of the Year.

Lagos Traffic Radio 96.1 won Radio Programme of the Year, while Radio Nigeria won the Radio Station of the Year.

LTV 8 clinched the prize for Television Reporter of the Year.

Channels TV was named the TV Newscaster of the Year.

Television Drama of the Year prize went to Silverbird’s Liberty Villa, while TV Continental won TV Station of the Year.

“THE NATION” is the best newspaper in the land.

The newspaper last night won the star prize, the Babatunde Jose Prize for the Newspaper of the Year at the Nigeria Media Merit Award (NMMA) 2018.

At the NMMA on Thursday, The PUNCH and The GUARDIAN were nominated for the Newspaper of the Year award but it was won by The Nation.

The Chairman, Panel of Assessors, Nigeria Media Merit Awards, Prof. Ralph Akinfeleye, said the panel got a total of 651 entries in 2018, adding that the figure fell short of the 755 entries received in 2017.

He noted that the quality of entries, however, did not drop, saying there was improvement in the investigative category and the corporate social responsibility of the media for the year under review.

Akinfeleye, who commended the panel of assessors for their commitment to duty, said some works gave the judges tough time because they were difficult to read.

He said, “For print, we had a total of 664 entries in 2017, while we recorded 473 entries in 2018. For radio, we had a total of 64 entries in 2017, while we recorded 31 entries in 2018. For television, we received a total of 28 entries in 2017, while we recorded 54 entries in 2018.

“Overall, we had 554 entrants and 755 entries in 2017, and 460 entrants and 651 entries in 2018. This year, we had difficulty in picking winners in the Newspaper of the Year, Editor of the Year, Radio of the Year and Television of the Year categories. The scores were too close for comfort. The differences between the winners in the categories were marginal. We had entries from other states apart from the South-West. We hope this will continue.”

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here