Tough Race As Aderinto, Fawehinmi, Mimiko, 15 Others Jostle For UI VC Job



Oluwajuwonlo Afolabi, Ibadan

The race to becoming the 13th Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan turns tougher as 18 Professors presented their candidature and readiness for the position at the 5th Edition of UI Community Forum held today at Trenchard Hall, University of Ibadan.

In his remarks, the incumbent VC of the University, Prof. Abel Idowu Olayinka, FAS admonished the aspirants to exercise patience and be of good composure as the journey to the emergence of another VC continues.

He called on the the aspirants to consolidate on the pace of excellence of the University at becoming a world-class while also meeting societal needs which is a fulfillment of the vision of the Institution.

Chief Bisi Adesola, the moderator of the event engaged the aspirants in questions and answers of which most responses were centered on ensuring equitable distribution of commonwealth, prudent management of resources, transparent administration, people-centered management, and hitch-free running of the institutions at their emergence as the 13th VC of the Premier University.

The 18 aspirants are: Prof. Babatunde Salako, College of Medicine; Prof. Olatunde Layiwola, Institute of African Studies and Prof. R. A Lawal Arts Education (University of Ilorin).

Others are Prof. Segun Kolawole, Language Education; Prof. Olapade-Olaopa College of Medicine; Prof. Olatunde Rom Kalilu, Art History and Prof. Tal-hatu Kolapo College of Medicine.

Also in the race are Prof. Fawehinmi Hakeem, College of Medicine (University of Port Harcourt); Prof. Olatunde Farombi, College of Medicine; Prof. Temitope Alonge, College of Medicine and Prof. Adeyinka Aderinto of Social Sciences.

Others are Prof. Olusegun Ademowo, College of Medicine; Prof. Babatunde Adeleke; Prof. Kayode Adebowale, Science; Prof. Raji-Oyelade A., Arts; Prof. Anthony Onifade, Science; Prof. Femi Mimiko and Prof. Hassan Saliu

The UI Community Forum is a traditional event in the University organized by ASUU, SSANU, NAAT, NASU, and SU to create a robust platform for discussion by aspirants and indirect participation of staff and students as stakeholders in the selection and appointment of a new VC.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here