Sustainable Development: Oke-Ogun Centrepiece Alliance Inaugurated



The Oke-Ogun Centrepiece Alliance which is a non-partisan, not-for-profit group of Oke-Ogun indigenes from all walks of life focused on the sustainable development of the region has been inaugurated.

The group was inaugurated on 30th December, 2021, at Oje-Owode.

Some of the dignitaries present at the inauguration are the Chief Judge of Oyo State Honorable Justice Munta Abimbola; the Honourable Commissioner for Special Duties, Alhaja Fausat Joke Sanni; the Chairperson Saki-East Local Government Area, Mrs. Rahmat Adeniran; former President of the Nigeria Computer Society, Professor Sola Aderounmu; Professor of Nuclear Physics at Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Professor Musibau Fasasi; former Registrar, Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso, Mr. Sunday Fehintola; former Minority Leader, Oyo State House of Assembly, Honourable Rafiu Adekunle; former Member of the House of Representatives(Irepo/Olorunsogo/Oorelope), Honourable Lanre Agoro; the Baale Sepeteri of Saki, High Chief Jimoh Babalola; former Chairperson of Saki East LGA, Honourable Moruf Dele Salau; Alhaji Rafiu Afolabi, Director, Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy, Abuja.

Also present at the inauguration is the former Chairperson, Saki-East LGA, Mr. Babatunde Ojo; former Chairperson, Irepo LGA, Mr. Ibrahim A. Tijani; former Director, Saki Satellite Campus of The Polytechnic, Ibadan, Dr. Y.Y. Muslim; former Minister of Communications, Barrister Bayo Shittu, represented by Mr. Azeez Yunus; Convener, Oke Ogun Project Forum, Esv. Ismail Adewoyin; Coordinator of the Oke-Ogun Centrepiece Alliance, Professor Yisa Kehinde Yusuf who is a former Dean of the Faculty of Arts at Obafemi Awolowo University and current Member of the Governing Council of the University of Maiduguri.

The Chairman of the Cordinating Committee while speaking at the inauguration stated the core membership of the Organisation to be a large group of individuals from Oke-Ogun who have demonstrated unassailable commitment to or are interested in the promotion of education in the region.

He pointed out that the core values of the group include Honesty/Integrity, Transparency, Accountability, Empathy, Mentorship, Networking, and Collaboration.

He highlighted the objectives of the Organisation which include the promotion of the educational advancement of Oke-Ogun at all levels; facilitating entrepreneurial empowerment of individuals and groups of Oke-Ogun origin; undertaking pro-Oke-Ogun advocacy in all realms of society; and engaging in any other activities that would enhance the development of the region.

While contributing to the discussion of the remarks of the erudite Professor of English Language, members present who were of diverse political and other affiliations were unanimous in pledging total support for the realisation of the noble objectives of the new Organisation. The meeting affirmed the appointment of Professor Yisa Kehinde Yusuf as the Chairperson of the Coordinating Committee and Esv Ismail Adewoyin as the Secretary. Representatives of the different Local Government Areas of Oke-Ogun were similarly appointed.

Donate to Precision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here